507 Butler Street

William Steward House

 Steward House in Niagara-on-the-Lake
Steward House in Niagara-on-the-Lake

William Steward, an African-American teamster and his wife Susannah lived in Niagara from 1834 – 1847. The Steward House was a part of Niagara’s “coloured village” – a vibrant community of former Canadian slaves, black loyalists, and African-American refugees. In 1837, Wm. Steward was one of 17 local blacks who signed a petition asking Lieut. Gov. Sir Frances Bond Head to refuse to extradite Kentucky fugitive Solomon Moseby, who was rescued from the Niagara jail by more than 100 Afro-Canadians. In 1847, the Stewards moved to Galt (now Cambridge).

The house is an excellent example of the local vernacular architecture. It went through many changes, including surrounding porches, but the Foundation’s restoration returned it to its earlier form. The Foundation purchased the property to rescue it from development, and completed the exterior restoration in 2006. The house is now privately owned.

William Steward House

507 Butler Street

St. Mark’s Rectory

41 Byron Street

Foghorn House

99 River Beach Road

William Gollop House

118 Queen Street

Historical Gravestones

Local cemeteries

St. Andrew’s Church Steeple

323 Simcoe Street at Gage Street

Stay connected

Sign up for email updates from The Niagara Foundation.

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.